Health Services Office

 Health Forms and Immunization

Each full-time graduate student, and all full and part-time students in health science programs involving patient contact (Nursing, Occupational Therapy, and Communication Sciences and Disorders) and all students attending Worcester State University on a student visa, must present evidence of immunization in order to register for classes. Massachusetts law specifies the following immunizations:

  1. two doses of measles, mumps and rubella vaccine given at least one month apart beginning at or after 12 months of age;

  2. one dose of tetanus/diphtheria/ pertussis (Tdap) is required, if it has been 5 years or more since the last dose of tetanus/diphtheria (Td);

  3. three doses of Hepatitis B vaccine;

  4. all full-time students, 21 years of age and younger, and all students(regardless of age) living in a dormitory or other congregate on-campus housing, will require immunization with the Meningococcal vaccine to protect against serotypes A, C, W and Y, on or after their 16th birthday, or the student/parent/legal guardian may sign the Meningococcal Information and Waiver Form developed by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health;

  5. a history of varicella (chicken Pox) disease verified by a health care provider, or two doses of Varicella vaccine given at least 1 month apart beginning at or after 12 months of age

  6. beginning Fall semester 2021, Worcester State University will expect all undergraduate and graduate students who are attending in-person classes, conducting research on campus, living in residence halls, or participating in campus life activities to be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 by the first day of classes.  Deadlines may be before September 6, 2022 for those students living in residence halls, participating in varsity athletics or late summer programming.

A copy of an immunization record from a school or medical provider's office indicating receipt of the required immunizations may be presented; or in the case of measles, mumps, rubella, Hepatitis B, or varicella, laboratory evidence of immunity. The law provides for medical and/or religious exemptions. Provision is also made to allow students to register on condition that the required immunizations are obtained within thirty days of enrollment.

Students must submit the Worcester State University Health and Immunization Form, completed by a medical provider, in order to register for classes. In addition to the required immunizations, this form includes a physical exam completed within 15 months of entrance to school, and the completion of the Tuberculosis Risk Screening Questionnaire.

All resident students must have a complete Worcester State University Health Form in order to move into the residence halls.

All students, listed previously, must have a complete Worcester State University Health Form in order to register for classes.

If a student does not have a complete Worcester State University Health Form within 30 days of enrollment, a Health Hold is placed on his/her account, and he/she will not be able to register for classes.

Contact Information

For additional information regarding the Worcester State University Health and Immunization Form or Health Holds, please contact:

Health Services - Sheehan Hall


508-929-8075 (fax)


Webpage: Health Services

Health Insurance

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts requires that students must be covered by health insurance under their own policy or purchase the Worcester State health insurance plan. Health insurance is required for undergraduate students if they register for nine (9) or more semester hours of credit. Coverage for graduate students is required if they register for four and a half (4.5) or more semester hours of credit.

At the time of fall and spring registration, all full time students will be enrolled in and charged for the Worcester State Student Health Insurance Program. Students who do not wish to participate in Worcester State’s plan must waive the insurance online at University Health Plans.  Both the completed waiver form and proof of insurance coverage should be returned with payment of their bill to the Bursar’s Office. Students who enroll only in summer session classes are not required to participate.